top of page

السبت، ١٤ أكتوبر

|

Youtube, Facebook, Twitch

SASA Book Club: "Lilith" by Nikki Marmery

A SASA livestream with author Nikki Marmery. Hosted by Cassandra May

Registration is closed
See other events
SASA Book Club: "Lilith" by Nikki Marmery
SASA Book Club: "Lilith" by Nikki Marmery

Time & Location

١٤ أكتوبر ٢٠٢٣، ١٢:٠٠ م – ١:٠٠ م غرينتش-٤

Youtube, Facebook, Twitch

About the Event

Hosted by Cassandra May.

Join us as we interview author Nikki Marmery and discuss her new release "Lilith" along with a live Q&A!

About the book: A triumphantly feminist retelling of the biblical creation myth in the tradition of Madeline Miller and Claire North. 

Before Eve, there was Lilith.  Lilith and Adam are equal and happy in the Garden of Eden. Until Adam decides Lilith should submit to his will and lie beneath him. She refuses—and is banished forever from Paradise.  Demonized and sidelined, Lilith watches in fury as God creates Eve, the woman who accepts her submission. But Lilith has a secret: she has already tasted the fruit of the Tree of Knowledge. Endowed with Wisdom, she knows why Asherah—God’s wife and equal, the Queen of Heaven—is missing. Lilith has a plan: she will rescue Eve, find Asherah, restore balance to the world, and regain her rightful place in Paradise.   Lilith’s quest for justice drives her throughout history, from the ziggurats of Ancient Sumer, to the court of Israel’s Queen Jezebel, and to the side of a radical preacher in Roman Judea. Noah’s wife, Norea, Jezebel and Mary Magdalene all play their part in Lilith’s enlightenment. In the modern age, as she observes the catastrophic consequences of a world built on inequality, Lilith finally understands what must be done to correct the wrong done to women—and all humankind—at the beginning of time.  Inspired by ancient myths and suppressed scriptures, Lilith is a thought-provoking and ambitious novel with an evocative literary voice and a triumphantly engaging heroine.

About the author: In a former life Nikki worked as a financial journalist. She now writes fiction from a small village near Amersham in the UK, where she lives with her husband and three children.

Nikki’s social links are:

https://twitter.com/nikkimarmery

https://nikkimarmery.com/

https://www.instagram.com/marmerynikki

Purchase the book here. 

Share This Event

bottom of page